[Skip to content]


What's new?                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                      Links to national stories and statements issued by the Board.

The Care Certificate is here

User AvatarPosted by Kathryn Platten at 07/04/2015 11:04:03

The Care Certificate for social care support workers and healthcare assistants has now been launched.

The Care Certificate is designed to replace and improve on the social care Common Induction Standards and health’s National Minimum Training Standards. Achievement of the certificate should ensure that social care support workers have the required values, behaviours, competences and skills to provide high quality, compassionate care.

The Care Certificate will begin being completed by new starters in social care and health from April 2015.  The Care Certificate should be prioritised by employers for ‘new staff, new to care’ and individuals will need to complete all 15 standards to be awarded the Care Certificate.  It is expected that the certificate would be completed within a 12 week period.

Materials to support employers prepare for the certificate, including the 15 standards and guidance are now available to download at www.skillsforcare.org.uk/carecertificate

What is the Care Certificate?

The Care Certificate sets out explicitly the learning outcomes, competences and standards of care that will be expected in both sectors, ensuring that the HCSW/ASCW is caring, compassionate and provides quality care.

The Care Certificate standards:

1. Understand Your Role

2. Your Personal Development

3. Duty of Care

4. Equality and Diversity

5. Work in a Person Centred Way

6. Communication

7. Privacy and Dignity

8. Fluids and Nutrition

9. Awareness of mental health, dementia and learning disabilities

10. Safeguarding Adults

11. Safeguarding Children

12. Basic Life Support

13. Health and Safety

14. Handling Information

15. Infection Prevention and Control

Of particular note for ERSAB is standard 10 – Safeguarding Adults.  Please visit www.skillsforcare.org.uk for further information. (external website - opens in a new window)

East Riding of Yorkshire Council logo
Humberside Police logo

Hull and East Yorkshire Hospitals NHS Trust logo
East Riding of Yorkshire Clinical Commissioning Group Logo